Supervisors make appointments to boards and commissions; many vacancies still exist

County News Is Sponsored By:

By Randy Arrington

LURAY, Jan. 21 — During its last meeting, the Page County Board of Supervisors made a half dozen appointments to various boards and commissions, but at least a half dozen more slots remain unfilled due to a lack of candidates.

“I will have a whole new list next month,” Assistant County Administrator Regina Miller told supervisors during the meeting. 

Supervisors reappointed Missie Deibert (Dist. 2) and Jay Dedman (At-Large) to the Page County Economic Development Authority. Both four-year terms run from Feb. 1, 2020 to Jan. 31, 2024. 

Vacancies on the EDA still exist in Districts 1 and 3. The District 1 seat seeks a qualified candidate to fill the unexpired term, which runs through Jan. 31, 2022. An appointment is needed in District 3 for a term running through Jan. 31, 2023.

An additional vacancy exists on the EDA for the Town of Shenandoah representative. The EDA voted to remove Ian Rudolph because rules state that if a member misses more than three consecutive meetings, they are considered inactive, according to a county report. The four-year term for that EDA seat would run from Feb. 1, 2020 through Jan. 31, 2024.

Paul Otto is up for re-appointment to the Page County Planning Commission as a representative from District 1. Supervisor Keith Guzy (Dist. 1) said during the meeting that he had been unable to reach Otto to gauge his interest in re-appointment and asked that the motion to reappoint Otto be held until the February meeting. Otto’s term would run through Jan. 14, 2024.

Supervisors reappointed Dale Karnes as the District 5 representative on the Board of Zoning Appeals. With appointments to the BZA, the supervisors makes the recommendation to the circuit court judge, who then makes the official appointment, according to a county report. Once signed off by the judge, Karnes’ term runs through Nov. 8, 2024.

Steve Cave (Dist. 2) and Emmett Brooks (Dist. 3) were reappointed after their terms expired on the Building Code Appeals Board. Their new four-year terms run through Dec. 31, 2023.

Dominika Seal was re-appointed to the Northwestern Community Services Board, where she serves as chairman. The new term runs through Dec. 31, 2022. Another seat for a Page County representative on the regional board remains vacant, with the same term. Board meetings are held the third Wednesday of each month beginning at 6:30 p.m. at their office in Front Royal. The Board’s responsibility is to review and evaluate mental health, developmental and substance abuse services and facilities, according to a county report, and to provide services authorized under the performance contract with the governing body of each county or city.

A seat on the Massanutten Regional Library Board also remains vacant for a Page County representative. The three-year term would run through Sept. 30, 2022. The Board of Trustees meets the third Wednesday of every other month at 7 p.m. at the Central Library in Harrisonburg.

Anyone interested in volunteering to serve on one of these community boards should contact their supervisor or the county administrator’s office.

Top Post Ad

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.