17 county football players earn All-District

High School news is sponsored by:

Bull Run District logo

~ PVN staff report

Coaches in the Bull Run District announced 2021 All-District football selections last week, with a combined total of 17 Page County and Luray football players earning a spot among the honorees.

Strasburg’s Trey Stinnette was chosen as the Offensive Player of the Year, while the Rams’ Camren Rutz was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year. Strasburg ended up at the top of the district for the shortened six-game spring season, and now plays Stuarts Draft — the No.1 team in 2A football in Virginia — for the Region 2B championship Friday, April 16. The winner will advance to a four-team state playoff.

The 2021 All-District football honorees include:


• Center — Camren Rutz, senior, Strasburg.

• O-LinemenLanden Dahnert, junior, Luray; Luke Brumback, senior, Clarke; Lucas Malloy, senior, Strasburg; Noah Lucas, freshman, Page.

• Receivers — Brayden Hovatter, senior, Stonewall; Brenden Fitzwater, senior, Luray; Canaan Pierce, senior, Page.

• Tight end — Dylan Hensley, junior, Page.

• Running backsAustin Holloway, senior, Luray; Andrew Lilly, senior, Page; Blake Turpen, junior, Page.

• QuarterbackDalton Griffith, senior, Luray.

• All-purpose — Trey Stinnette, senior, Strasburg.

• KickerJared Melini, senior, Page.

• Kick returner — Trey Stinnette, senior, Strasburg.


• D-LinemenTyler Pence, senior, Luray; Logan Lucas, sophomore, Page; Will Roller, senior, Strasburg.

• Defensive ends — Camren Rutz, senior, Strasburg; Trey Trenary, senior, Clarke.

• Linebackers — Sam Brumback, senior, Clarke; Brady Jenkins, sophomore, Luray; David Rothgeb, senior, Page; Justin Day, senior, Strasburg.

• Defensive backs — Deante Trammel, junior, Clarke; Canaan Pierce, senior, Page; Tanner Jenkins, junior, Strasburg; Brenden Fitzwater, senior, Luray.

• All-PurposeDalton Griffith, senior, Luray.

• PunterBrenden Fitzwater, senior, Luray.

• Punt returner — Trey Stinnette, senior, Strasburg.


• CenterEvan Cubbage, sophomore, Page.

• O-Linemen — Clay Welsh, junior, Clarke; Colin Vrescis, senior, Stonewall; Logan Lucas, sophomore, Page; Patrick Kennedy, senior, Strasburg.

• Receivers — Deante Trammel, junior, Clarke; Logan Cubbage, senior, Page; Lebron Payton, junior, Luray.

• Tight end — Will Roller, senior, Strasburg.

• Running backsBrady Jenkins, sophomore, Luray; Jesse Funkhouser, senior, Strasburg; Justin Day, senior, Strasburg.

• Quarterback — Ryan Jenkins, senior, Strasburg.

• All-Purpose — Rion Dennison, senior, Stonewall.

• Kicker — Brendan Haun, senior, Clarke.

• Kick returnerAustin Holloway, senior, Luray.


• D-Linemen — Liam Whalen, junior, Clarke; Roger Tapscott, junior, Clarke; Patrick Kennedy, senior, Strasburg.

• Defensive endsLanden Dahnert, junior, Luray; Brandon Dawson, junior, Page.

• Linebackers — Luke Brumback, senior, Clarke; Andrew Lilly, senior, Page; Blake Turpen, junior, Page; Trey Stinnette, senior, Strasburg.

• Defensive backsLebron Payton, junior, Luray; Ryan Jenkins, senior, Strasburg; Sean Mckinley, senior, Strasburg; Jacon Lemon, junior, Stonewall.

• All-purpose — Wynn Morris, senior, Clarke.

• Punter — Brad Neary, junior, Strasburg.

• Punt returner — Brandon Hindman, junior, Clarke.

For schedules, rosters, results and standings, visit the Bull Run District website.



Panthers fall to Rams in region semifinal

Panthers hold off ‘Dawgs, 37-28, to capture second playoff berth since 1993

Luray handles Clarke 36-14, showdown with Page set for 6 p.m. on April Fool’s Day

Luray dominates Madison, 70-6

Panthers notch second win over Bath, 45-6

Bulldogs get first win over Stonewall, 57-24

Griffith signs with Frostburg State

Panthers open football season with 58-7 win over Madison

Top Post Ad

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.