Little League Champs

Luray museum

August 16, 1962 The Senators won the Little League baseball championship in Luray for 1962 with an 18-4 victory over the Caverns Bats last week.

The Senators won two straight during the playoff series for the title.

In the deciding game, the Senators scored half of their 18 runs in one inning, which was during the early part of the game.

Mike Chrisman, who pitched a little better than four innings as the starting pitcher for the Senators, got credit for the victory. Randy Stokes later relieved him.

The Caverns team used four pitchers, Terry Bell, Charles Carroll, Craig Mauck and Alex Lushpinsky. Bell was the losing pitcher.

The Senators had 13 hits and the Caverns eight.

Steve Campbell of the Senators, was the batting star of the game with five for five, including a couple of extra base hits.

Jimmy Logan had two hits for the winners.

Charles Buracker had three hits for the Caverns followed by Billy Wyatt and Craig Mauck with two hits apiece. 

~ From the public archives of the Page News and Courier

Top Post Ad

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.