May 16, 1889 — The Luray Female Seminary of this place, encouraged beyond its most sanguine expectations, determined to increase its capital stock to $10,000, the sum necessary to enlarge the buildings and to buy adjoining property.
The building now to be constructed will be about twice as large as the one originally contemplated.
There will also be other improvements added, which at first were not determined upon, and altogether when completed the Luray Female Seminary will be second to none in the state for comfort and elegance.
The company has bought the old academy lot on the east, belonging to Mr. A. Shipe, which gives clear an unobstructed view of the Hawksbill scenery.
The Inn and its beautiful surroundings in the distance, and farther yet in the background the picturesque valley and mountains.
~ From the public archives of the Page News and Courier