10 local players honored on All-District basketball team

High School news is sponsored by:

Rappahannock v Page County Boys Varsity BB 1-13-2021
PCHS senior guard Canaan Pierce scored a team-high 24 points in the Panthers' 75-72 win at Rappahannock. ~ PHOTO CREDIT: Lisa Crider / MadRapp Recorder

~ PVN staff report

The Bull Run District has announced All-District honors for the 2020-21 basketball season. Among the first-team basketball selections are four Panthers and two Bulldogs, with a total of 10 county athletes being named among the 32 All-District honorees.

In girls basketball, local teams dominated the selections with four of the eight first-team honorees and three of the eight second-team slots.

In addition, LHS junior Emilee Weakley was named the Bull Run District “Player of the Year” in girls basketball, while East Rockingham’s Tyler Nickel earned the same honor for boys basketball.

Below is the full list of the Bull Run’s All-District basketball teams:

Boys Basketball

All-District — First Team

• Tyler Nickel — East Rockingham, junior

• Kyle Evick — East Rockingham, senior

• Canaan Pierce — Page County, senior

• Ricky Campbell — Page County, junior

• Grant Lillard — Rappahannock, junior

• Jackson Taylor — Madison County, junior

• Cooper Keyes — East Rockingham, junior

• Ellis Nei — Clarke County, senior

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Tyler Nickel, ERHS, junior


All-District — Second Team

• Walker Conrad — Strasburg, freshman

• Mason Ramey — Rappahannock, junior

• Dean Breeden — Madison County, junior

• Christian Hess — Stonewall Jackson, senior

• Ron Fox — Strasburg, senior

• Brendan Fitzwater — Luray, senior

• Taylor Finchum — Madison County, junior

• Trey Stinnette — Strasburg, senior


Girls Basketball

All-District — First Team

• Emilee Weakley — Luray, junior

• Brynlee Burrill — Luray, senior

• Lindsay McDaniel — Madison County, junior

• Sterlyn Woodward — Madison County, senior

• Caris Lucas — Page County, junior

• Taylor Hankins — Page County, senior

• Kylene Franklin — Stonewall Jackson, senior

• Macy Smith — Strasburg, freshman

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Emilee Weakley, Luray, junior


All District — Second Team

• Alison Sipe — Clarke County, senior

• Jaidyn McClung — Luray, sophomore

• Mya Council — Stonewall Jackson, sophomore

• Dy’Ehisa Tyler — Madison County, junior

• Nyla Sperry — Strasburg, junior

• Leah Hilliard — Page County, juniorAver

• Tori Atkins — Rappahannock, junior

• Averie Alger — Luray, junior



Luray wins second state title since 1988 with thriller over Gate City

Luray headed back to 2A state championship after 59-point win in semifinal

Bulldogs roll to 30-point win in Region 2B championship

Luray advances to Region B championship versus Staunton

Panthers advance to Region B semifinal over Strasburg, 57-36

Page advances to Region B semifinal with win over Madison, 67-51

Page moves to 10-2 with second win over Luray, 85-53

Luray moves to 7-0 with second win over Page, 66-51

Panthers ‘play through’ swings to outlast Rapp, 66-58

Page falls to improved Strasburg team, 70-57

Page handles Luray, 69-38

Panthers move to 7-1 after defeating Stonewall, 60-40

Bulldogs move to 3-0 with win over visiting Strasburg

Panthers move to 4-1 with win over Clarke, 50-31

Panthers remain undefeated with 67-55 win over Madison

Page County outlasts Rappahannock in thriller

Page County picks up first win in home opener against Strasburg, 56-46

Campbell puts up 27 points in Panthers’ opening win over Stonewall

Top Post Ad

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.