Weakley, Nickel named Bull Run District’s Players of the Year

High School news is sponsored by:


By Randy Arrington

There were no surprises in the selection of top players in the Bull Run District this year. Two names clearly stood out among the crowd for boys and girls basketball.

Following the Luray Bulldogs’ victory over Strasburg in the Bull Run District girls basketball championship last Thursday, LHS standout sophomore Emilee Weakley was named the Bull Run’s Player of the Year.

Averaging just under 30 points per game, Weakley has surpassed 30 points in 11 games this year, not to mention a host of steals, blocks and assists.

“Her motor never stops,” LHS coach Joe Lucas said after the Bulldogs’ semifinal win over Madison. “That’s why she’s so good.”

Along with Weakley, LHS junior Brynlee Burrill and PCHS sophomore Leah Hilliard were named to the All-District first team. The full listing of first and second team all-district selections for girls basketball include:

Bull Run All-District — First Team (girls basketball)

  • Emiliee Weakley, sophomore, Luray
  • Bynlee Burrill, junior, Luray
  • Leah Hilliard, sophomore, Page
  • Christyan Redi, senior, Strasburg
  • Jaden Alsberry, senior, Strasburg
  • Nyla Sperry, sophomore, Strasburg
  • Kylene Franklin, junior, Stonewall Jackson
  • Olivia Atkins, Rapahannock

Bull Run All-District — Second Team (girls basketball)

  • Averie Alger, sophomore, Luray
  • Jaidyn McClung, freshman, Luray
  • Caris Lucas, sophomore, Page
  • Raegan Owens, Clarke
  • Allison Sipe, junior, Clarke
  • Lindsay McDaniel, sophomore, Madison
  • Sterling Woodward, junior, Madison
  • Mya Council, freshman, Stonewall Jackson

On the boys side, Tyler Nickel has been a true standout as a sophomore for East Rockingham this season with college scouts already hovering around him. He was chosen Bull Run District Player of the Year after the Eagles claimed the tournament title over Page on Friday night. Other all-district selections include:

Bull Run All-District — First Team (boys basketball)

  • Tyler Nickel, sophomore, East Rockingham
  • Tyce McNair, senior, East Rockingham
  • Chase Combs, senior, Page
  • Trevor Williams, senior, Page
  • Derek Fox, senior, Strasburg
  • Richard Lillard, senior, Rappahannock
  • Volkan Ergan, senior, Clarke
  • Michael Stout, senior, Stonewall Jackson

Bull Run All-District — Second Team (boys basketball)

  • Kyle Evick, junior, East Rockingham
  • Freddy Stidham, senior, Page
  • Dylan Atkins, senior, Luray
  • Kamryn Pangle, senior, Strasburg
  • Makainen Woodward, senior, Madison
  • Grant Lillard, sophomore, Rappahannock
  • Christian Hess, junior, Stonewall Jackson
  • Ellis Nei, junior, Clarke

Top Post Ad

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.