14 local athletes earn All-Region football honors

High School news is sponsored by:


~ PVN staff report

Coaches in Region 2B selected the 2021 All-Region football honorees on Monday, April 19, with 14 local athletes earning mention including nine on the first team.

Region 2B champion and No.1-ranked 2A football team in Virginia, Stuarts Draft, took top individual honors as Aaron Nice was named Offensive Player of the Year and Latrell Fomby earned Defensive Player of the Year.

The 2021 All-Region 2B football honorees include:


• Center — Camren Rutz, senior, Strasburg.

• O-LinemenLanden Dahnert, junior, Luray; Jayson Williams, junior, Stuarts Draft; Ethan Cash, senior, Stuarts Draft; Noah Lucas, freshman, Page.

• Receivers — Jo’el Howard, senior, Stuarts Draft; Ryan Bosserman, junior, Staunton; Canaan Pierce, senior, Page.

• Tight end — Dylan Hensley, junior, Page.

• Running backsAustin Holloway, senior, Luray; Aaron Nice, junior, Stuarts Draft; Cobey Rothgeb, senior, Stuarts Draft.

• QuarterbackDalton Griffith, senior, Luray.

• All-purpose — Trey Stinnette, senior, Strasburg.

• KickerJared Melini, senior, Page.

• Kick returner — Trey Stinnette, senior, Strasburg.


• D-Linemen — Latrell Fomby, senior, Stuarts Draft; Will Roller, senior, Strasburg; Tyler Pence, senior, Luray.

• Defensive ends — Camren Rutz, senior, Strasburg; Jayden Watkins, senior, Stuarts Draft.

• Linebackers — Aaron Nice, junior, Stuarts Draft; Justin Day, senior, Strasburg; Troy Thompson, sophomore, Stuarts Draft.

• Defensive backs — Jo’el Howard, senior, Stuarts Draft; Cobey Rothgeb, senior, Stuarts Draft; Tanner Jenkins, junior, Strasburg; Canaan Pierce, senior, Page.

• All-Purpose — Dustyn Fitzgerald, senior, Stuarts Draft.

• Punter — Hunter Campbell, junior, Buffalo Gap.

• Punt returner — Jo’el Howard, senior, Stuarts Draft.


• Center — Zach Shifflett, senior, East Rockingham.

• O-Linemen — Luke Brumback, senior, Clarke; Lucas Molloy, senior, Strasburg; Jakai Johnson, senior, Buffalo Gap; Jacob Craig, senior, Buffalo Gap.

• Receivers — Brayden Hovatter, senior, Stonewall Jackson; Brenden Fitzwater, senior, Luray; Kayden Jackson, sophomore, Staunton.

• Tight end — Latrell Fomby, senior, Stuarts Draft.

• Running backsAndrew Lilly, senior, Page; Blake Turpen, junior, Page; Bryce Hildebrand, junior, Buffalo Gap.

• Quarterback — Ryan Jenkins, senior, Strasburg.

• All-Purpose — Tanner Rivenberg, senior, Buffalo Gap.

• Kicker — Bryce Dennison, freshman, Stuarts Draft.

• Kick returner — Jo’el Howard, senior, Stuarts Draft.


• D-LinemenLogan Lucas, sophomore, Page; Jayson Williams, junior, Stuarts Draft; Mark Yoder, junior, Buffalo Gap.

• Defensive ends — Trey Trenary, senior, Clarke; Matt Fries, senior, East Rockingham.

• Linebackers — Sam Brumback, senior, Clarke; Brady Jenkins, sophomore, Luray; Michael Bondaruk, senior, Buffalo Gap; Peyton Dunn, freshman, Staunton.

• Defensive backs — Hunter Campbell, senior, Buffalo Gap; Brenden Fitzwater, senior, Luray; Symeon Balser, junior, Stuarts Draft; Zach Boyd, senior, Staunton.

• All-purposeDalton Griffith, senior, Luray.

• PunterBrenden Fitzwater, senior, Luray.

• Punt returner — Trey Stinnette, senior, Strasburg.

For schedules, rosters, results and standings, visit the Bull Run District website.



17 county football players earn All-District

Panthers fall to Rams in region semifinal

Panthers hold off ‘Dawgs, 37-28, to capture second playoff berth since 1993

Luray handles Clarke 36-14, showdown with Page set for 6 p.m. on April Fool’s Day

Luray dominates Madison, 70-6

Panthers notch second win over Bath, 45-6

Bulldogs get first win over Stonewall, 57-24

Griffith signs with Frostburg State

Panthers open football season with 58-7 win over Madison

Top Post Ad

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.