Six local players earn Bull Run All-District basketball honors

High School news is sponsored by:


~ PVN staff report

LURAY, Feb. 17 — On Friday, Bull Run District officials released selections for the 2022-23 All-District basketball teams. Among the honorees were six local players; three from Luray and three from Page, three selected for the first team and three placed on the second team.

Luray senior Jaidyn McClung and Page County junior Adryn Martin were first team selections for the Bull Run All-District girls basketball team. Luray junior Emily Donovan and Page freshman Ali Purdham were chosen for the second team.

Strasburg junior Macy Smith was selected as the Bull Run District “Player of the Year.”

Clarke County captured the Bull Run District regular season title with a 13-3 record, but exited the district tournament early via a 42-33 upset by No. 5 Luray in the semifinals. No. 2 Strasburg captured the tournament title, 56-46, over Luray.

In addition to McClung, Martin and Smith, other first team All-District selections in girls basketball included Central junior Makenna Painter, Clarke senior Keira Rohrbach, Clarke freshman Alainah McKavish, East Rockingham junior Lauren Townsend, and Moutain View senior Bre Franklin.

In addition to Donovan and Pudham, other second team All-District selections included Clarke senior Hailey Evans, Rappahannock senior Savannah Loving, Central senior Chloe Helsley, Rappahannock sophomore Summer Shackelford, Mountain View senior Mya Councill, and Strasburg freshman Emily Gorrell.

The Region B Tournament gets underway Tuesday night as follows:

  • #8 Stuarts Draft (4-16) @ #1 Clarke County (19-5)
  • #5 Central-Woodstock (14-9) @ #4 Buckingham (16-8)
  • #6 Page County (11-12) @ #3 Luray (15-8)
  • #7 East Rockingham (9-14) @ #2 Strasburg (19-6)

On the boys side, Luray junior Christian Lentz was the only local player to earn first team All-District honors. Page County senior Jacob Williams was selected for the second team.

Madison County junior Bryce Breeden was chosen as the Bull Run District “Player of the Year.”

Clarke County earned the tie-breaker in a three-way tie for first place at the end of the regular season with a 13-3 district record. However, the No. 1 Eagles fell to No. 4 Strasburg, 54-39, in the tournament semifinals. The Mountaineers of Madison took the tournament championship, 52-42, over Strasburg.

In addition to Lentz and Breeden, other first team All-District selections included Clarke junior Will Booker, East Rockingham junior Kain Shifflett, Strasburg junior Walker Conrad, Madison junior Seth McLearen, Clarke junior Moses Day, and East Rockingham senior Xavier Butler.

In addition to Williams, other second team selections included Clarke junior Louis Marino, Central senior Jake Boyce, Rappahannock junior Nolan Prince, Mountain View junior Johnny Hasley, Strasburg junior Griffin Carter, East Rockingham junior Ryan Williams, and Madison junior Billy Acton.

The Region B Tournament gets underway Tuesday night as follows:

  • #8 Page County (10-13) @ #1 Clarke County (16-8)
  • #5 East Rockingham (16-8) @ #4 Strasburg (17-7)
  • #6 Central (8-15) @ #3 Buckingham (17-6)
  • #7 Stuarts Draft (7-13) @ #2 Madison County (19-6)

For full schedules, rosters and standings — check out the Bull Run District website.



Bulldogs fall to Rams, 56-46, in Bull Run championship after Smith’s 32-point effort

No. 5 Luray dominates No. 1 Clarke during 42-33 upset on the road in Bull Run semifinal

Luray girls only local team to advance to Bull Run semifinals on Wednesday

Top Post Ad

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.