Coach Lucas, Weakley, Burrill, Hankins earn top honors in Virginia’s 2A girls basketball

High School news is sponsored by:

Joe Lucas
LHS head coach Joe Lucas has lead the girls basketball team to a two-year record of 42-2.

~ PVN staff report

LURAY, March 16 — After capturing its first-ever state championship in girls basketball with a perfect 13-0 season, Luray High School has now claimed the top two individual statewide honors as well.

The Virginia High School Coaches Association has named LHS junior Emilee Weakley Virginia’s 2A girls basketball “Player of the Year,” and LHS head coach Joe Lucas the Commonwealth’s 2A girls basketball “Coach of the Year.”

Weakley earlier earned honors as the Bull Run District Player of the Year and the Region 2B Player of Year after averaging nearly 30 points per game through her junior year. She scored more than 90 points in the Region 2B tournament and 54 points in the state tournament.

Lucas has coached the Bulldogs’ girls basketball team to back-to-back appearances in the 2A state championship and has posted a two-year record of 42-2.

In addition, LHS senior Brynlee Burrill and Page County High School senior Taylor Hankins were named to the First Team of the 2A girls basketball All-State squad.

Coaches held a meeting and voted on the All-State selections on Monday, March 15.

The following is a full list of honorees:

All-State — 2A Girls Basketball

First Team

Emilee Weakley (LHS)

Brynlee Burrill (LHS)

Sarah Thompson (Gate City)

Olivia Harris (Glenvar)

Hailey Sutherland (Ridgeview)

Alexis Kizer (Floyd)

Macey Mullins (Gate City)

Taylor Hankins (Page)

Amber Kimberlin (Marion)

Player of the Year — Emilee Weakley, LHS

Coach of the Year — Joe Lucas, LHS

Second Team

Melaysia Donaldson (Glenvar)

Brooklyn Frazier (Ridgeview)

Haley Smith (Fort Chiswell)

Anna Hagy (Marion)

Kylene Franklin (Stonewall Jackson)

Maria Wilson (Virginia)

Amaya Lucas (Buffalo Gap)

Laney Cline (Radford)



Six county athletes selected for All-Region hoops team

10 local players honored on All-District basketball team

Luray wins third state title since 1988 with thriller over Gate City

Top Post Ad

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.