Local teachers in nearby school divisions honored at annual VTEEA conference in Hampton

Ron Vickers award
Ron Vickers (on right) poses with two Frederick County colleagues alongside an award from the VTEEA conference in Hampton on July 17-20, 2023.

~ PVN staff report

LURAY — Three “local” teachers were recently honored during the three-day annual conference for the Virginia Technology Education and Engineering Association held in Hampton July 17-20. While these teachers do reside in Page County, they currently work in nearby school divisions, and one even serves on the Luray Council.

Ron Vickers, who recently retired after more than four decades in education, was one of those recipients. The Vice Mayor of Luray retired from Frederick County Public Schools and was inducted into the Upsilon Field Chapter of the Technology Honor Society Epsilon Phi Tau — the leading international honor society for technology. Epsilon Pi Tau recognizes academic excellence of students in fields devoted to the study of technology and the preparation of practitioners for the technology professions, as well as extending the honor of membership and advancement activities to outstanding practitioners in the technology professions, scholars with exemplary research interests in technology in society and/or persons who have significantly supported or advanced technology professions.

During the awards dinner at the Virginia Air and Space Museum, Vickers was also awarded the honor of being included as the 16th member of the Academy of Scholars. The Academy of Scholars Citation is the highest recognition that the Virginia Technology and Engineering Education Association (VTEEA) can bestow upon any individual. To qualify, the individual must have gained prominence in and brought honor to the profession of technology and engineering education, and be a VTEEA member. Individuals are considered for this honor based on: a) Teaching experience, b) Leadership roles in VTEEA and other affiliate organizations (Vickers served as Historian), c) Professional development activities at local to international level including presentations and conducting seminars/workshops, and d) Recognition by peers. 

In addition to Vickers, Page County residents Mary Alice Crews and Rosie Ehlers work with the 5th grade team at Smithland Elementary in Harrisonburg City Public Schools. They were selected  to receive the ward for VTEEA “Elementary School Program of the Year” and will represent Virginia at the next annual ITEEA conference.

Learn more about the Virginia Technology Education

and Engineering Association at https://www.vteea.org/



Comer named national ACTE Teacher of the Year

LMS science teacher selected 2020 Conservation Teacher of the Year

Page Schools announce Teachers of the Year

Schools announce Teachers/Staff of the Year

Teacher honored

Grant allows teachers to further education with computer science certification

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.